Chancellor’s Casa

If you’re a UCSD student and you check your email and/or keep up on current UC news, you would know that UC President Mark Yudof announced last Friday the next chancellor of UCSD, Pradeep K. Khosla, from Carnegie Mellon’s Department of Engineering. Beginning August 2012, Khosla will become the eighth chancellor of this prestigious university. (Goodbye Chancellor Fox…)

You might be thinking why this would be in my “Constructing La Jolla” blog.

This weaves with the vision of my blog because I work as an Alumni Discovery Ambassador with UCSD Alumni, and today I had an exciting work meeting in which we received the May issue of the UCSD Alumni Magazine. I read a blurb on the Chancellor’s house, and about how a $10.5 million renovation was budgeted (all from private funds, don’t worry students!) to fix-up this seven acre house of La Jolla Farms. The new name for the newly renovated house will be called “Geisel House” to reflect the generous supporter of UCSD, Audrey Geisel, the wife of Mr. Geisel (aka Dr. Seuss) himself. (Sidenote: I’ve had the pleasure of meeting her at Celebrate 50, UCSD’s 50th anniversary gala in 2010 and she is the sweetest!)

These are some exciting times for UCSD in hiring a new chancellor who will bring new life and energy back to this campus with his vision. I can’t wait to see what UCSD will have in store for itself in the coming years. Though I’m a graduating senior, I know I’ll be back to visit the campus at the very least, if not decide to reside in San Diego for some time after I graduate. Hopefully one day, I can persuade a friend or two to hunt for the Chancellor’s house with me, because it looks beautiful and I would love to see the newly renovated historical house.

Image

google.com (lajollalight.com)

Leave a Reply

